Congregation B'nai Israel

2710 Park Avenue, Bridgeport, CT 06604 | (203) 336-1858 | |

  • Find us on Facebook

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Congregation B’nai Israel represents a cross section of the membership, ensuring all voices are heard in synagogue governance. While it may seem that its primary duty is to oversee the financial operations of the synagogue, the more fundamental responsibility is general governance of all facets of the synagogue including worship, religious education and programming. As such, many Board members serve as committee chairs to obtain congregant input and provide suggestions to the Board. You can contact them directly by clicking on their names below. In addition to the Board, the Executive Committee is comprised of the Officers of the Board; their duty is to review matters of general interest and concern to the Board, and then make recommendations. The Executive Committee has no authority to make policy unilaterally, nor modify the approved budget. The Board may then elect to accept or reject any recommendation based upon its merits. Both the Board of Trustees and Executive Committee meet monthly.

Michael Blumenthal President
Shari Nerreau 1st Vice President
Lawrence Levine Vice President
Jill Elbaum Vice President
Jim Greenberg Vice President
Jerry Saunders Treasurer
Perry Molinoff Assistant Treasurer
Susan Walden Secretary
Joe Varon Financial Secretary

There are over twenty other men and women serving on our board as trustees. Many of them serve as committee chairs. Click on any trustee’s name to send them an email.

Bonnie Appel  
Rebecca Blondin  
Edward Burger URJ Board
Luise Burger URJ Board
Kristen Carley  
Michelle Dawes  
Jonathan Dizney  
Laurie Gaugler  
Eric Gross  House Committee Co-Chair
David Herbst  Adult Jewish Learning
Mark Hotchkiss  
Bernie Jacobs House Committee Co-Chair
and Cemetery Chairperson
Jack Kadden  
Randye Kaye  
Jeremy Kranowitz  
Beth Natt Religious School Chair
Ilana Ofgang  
Adam Rosen  
Samuel Rosenberg Immediate Past President
Anat Shiloach  
Nina Silberman  
Barbara Solomon Religious Practices Committee
Rachel Yurdin Social Action

It is easy to volunteer. Call the synagogue office at (203) 336-1858 or click on the name of the committee chair above and indicate your interest. The appropriate chairperson will be notified and you will be contacted.